Cover Your Tracks

If you're worried about someone knowing you have visited the HGSCP website, there are ways to cover your tracks.

Some perpetrators will check web usage. If you are worried please follow this information which is for guidance only.

To be completely safe, you should use a pc at work, a library (public or internet library) or even at a friend’s. If you are sending emails, it is important to remember that they need to be deleted from the sent folder, and removed from the deleted items folder.

How can someone find out I have looked at this or other sites? When you use the internet, the pc and the actual browser (like Internet Explorer or Chrome) will often keep information. This could include websites you have looked at, search terms you have entered in Google, Yahoo or other search engines and also a list of sites (called history) you have recently looked at. Below is information setting out how you can reduce the chances of someone finding out that you have looked at this or other websites.

What browser have I got? If you do not know the type of browser you are using, click on Help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will set this out and may say About Google Chrome, or About Internet Explorer or something similar. The entry refers to which browser type you are using - you should then refer to the relevant instructions below. How you can remove your internet history Firefox 2 Click on Tools and then Options, then click on Privacy. At private data select settings, ensure that all boxes have been selected and then click on Clear Now Google Chrome Google has clear and helpful instructions for removing previously viewed websites at: http://www.google.com/support/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer =95537

Google Search Engine - When you have searched using Google, often when words are typed in again, Google will list previous sites that begin in the same way. These are instructions from Google to remove previously searched items. http://www.google.co.uk/support/websearch/bin/answer.py?hl=en&an swer=465

Internet Explorer 6 - (Find your version by selecting Help in the Internet explorer and clicking About Internet Explorer) Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options... On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK. Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labeled Delete all offline content and click OK. Under History, click on Clear History and then OK. Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally, Clear Forms.

Internet Explorer 7 - Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. In the General page under Browser History, select the Delete... button. Either select and Delete each section: Temporary internet files; Cookies, History; Forms data and Passwords; or select the Delete all... button at the bottom to clear everything.

Netscape 7 - Click on the Edit menu and select Preferences. In the left pane, expand History then in the right area click Clear History. Next, expand Privacy and Security and select Cookies then on the button Manage Stored Cookies and in the new dialog box click Remove All Cookies. Then repeat similar for Forms and the Manage Stored Form Data button and the same for Passwords and the Manage Stored Passwords button. Additionally, you may Manage Forms, Cookies and Passwords individually from the Tools menu - but not the temporary page Cache files.

Opera - Click on Tools and then Preferences. Click on the Advanced tab and then the History section on the left-hand side. Click the Clear button to the right of Addresses and the Empty Now button to the right of Disk cache. Opera does not have an easy way to clear all Cookies. Deleting your browsing history Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a 'history'.

Safari - Select History at top of the screen and choose "Clear History". Or you can click on the word Safari where, half way down the menu list you will find “Reset Safari”. If you click on this all history and cookies will be removed. Toolbars Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose "Clear Search History".

General security - If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

News Updates

Seeking Home Shared Living Providers

Haida Gwaii Society for Community Peace is seeking several interested  parties to share their homes  with persons with developmental disabilities.

Shared living providers welcome an individual into their home and offer a warm and inclusive living environment. Both parties are matched according to their strengths, needs, experience, interests, and personalities.

read more

Flight to Freedom

For Sale: Limited Edition "Flight to Freedom" Prints by April White

read more